Polish translator-internship,volunteering,work placement in US!!! help please :-)
Thread poster: Adriana Pac
Adriana Pac
Adriana Pac  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:28
Polish to English
+ ...
Mar 8, 2011

I am looking for a work placement in US (Washington DC). I am a student of BA Translation in London and I am looking for people who could give me some information about any agency in US who hire students for a year.

Looking forward to hearing from you as soon as possible.

THANKS!!!!

Nicole Schnell
Nicole Schnell  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:28
English to German
+ ...
In memoriam
Why Washington D.C.? Mar 8, 2011

Just curious.

The requirements for companies that wish to host a foreign intern are tough. Aside from the costly and time-consuming ordeal to get you approved for a J1 visa, the company must provide a full time education program for you. This might be difficult because this very agency must have work for you in your language pair pretty much 24/7. Which is unlikely.

Please note that the employer is not r
... See more
Just curious.

The requirements for companies that wish to host a foreign intern are tough. Aside from the costly and time-consuming ordeal to get you approved for a J1 visa, the company must provide a full time education program for you. This might be difficult because this very agency must have work for you in your language pair pretty much 24/7. Which is unlikely.

Please note that the employer is not required to pay you a cent, and you are not allowed to earn any money on the side. It is illegal, for you as well as for the employer.

Our immigration laws are strict - which is good because otherwise any company in the US could recruit cheap labor from foreign countries and disguise such illegal employment as "internship".

There are possibilities, though. Please check out this website:

http://ciee.org/hire/index.aspx