Off topic: No smoking / white button
Autor de la hebra: Schpella
Schpella
Schpella
Local time: 17:06
Mar 12, 2009

I am a newbie here and I didn't have the time to read through the whole forum, so I apologize if this one is old.

The story goes like this: somewhere in Germany, the owners of a supermarket decided to put out a sign that would say "No smoking" in several languages and thought they should put it down in serbian-croatian language also.

... See more
I am a newbie here and I didn't have the time to read through the whole forum, so I apologize if this one is old.

The story goes like this: somewhere in Germany, the owners of a supermarket decided to put out a sign that would say "No smoking" in several languages and thought they should put it down in serbian-croatian language also.

Obviously they didn't consult a professional translator, but they knew that the serbian-croatian translation of "no smoking" (zabranjeno pušenje) is also a name of a famous Bosnian rock band. I guess they've just taken a wild guess and put the name of the wrong band on the sign...

So basically, the sign says "No smoking" in german, english, italian and turkish... and in serbian-croatian, it says "Bijelo dugme", which means "White button".
Collapse

Xanthippe
Xanthippe
Francia
Miembro 2008
italiano al francés
+ ...
LOCALIZADOR DEL SITIO
unbelievable.... Mar 12, 2009

unbelievable... I don't know if I would laugh or cry .....

People would better pay a professional translator....

pltsanve
pltsanve
Eslovenia
inglés al esloveno
+ ...
A heavy one Mar 12, 2009

and might be amusing to those who understand the language and know those bands. However, I doubt that whoever ordered that translation would agree with the amusement part.

Hard to believe it's true, although I'm sure we've all seen cases much worse than this.

Thank you for sharing

BR
Vesna

Kemal Mustajbegovic
Kemal Mustajbegovic  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:06
inglés al croata
+ ...
That's actually... Mar 12, 2009